Why You Won’t Travel to Europe with your Current Kenyan Passport


Schengen is a European zone consisting of 26 countries have focused on the strengthening of external borders permitting its citizens to move from one country to the other, within this territory, as if the whole region was a single country.

Following an official notification from the Kenyan authorities issued to all diplomatic missions that all Kenyan passports except the new East African Community biometric e-Passport will be rendered invalid from 1 September 2019, The Member States of Schengen has issued important information notice with regards to visa requirements by Kenyan who wish to travel into the region.

The Schengen Member States has informed the Kenyan public that from 1 June 2019 only the new East African Community biometric e-Passport can be accepted for Schengen visa applications.

Article 12 (a) of the Regulation (EC) No. 810/2009, commonly known as “Visa Code”, guarantees that the validity of a travel document shall extend at least three months after the intended date of departure from the territory of the Schengen Member States.

To apply for the Schengen visa the following documents are necessary.

  • Fully completed and signed an application form
  • Original passports and complete photocopies of original passport,
  • Photocopy of the national ID card (both sides).
  • One color photo, not more than six months old, passport size (45 mm x 35 mm), full face.
  • Individual medical travel insurance which covers all costs that could arise as a result of emergency medical assistance, emergency hospitalization or medical repatriation
  • Payment or proof of payment of the visa fee

The Immigration Department of Kenya had issued a deadline on the application for the new passports to be August. On such short notice, what happens to those who had already made travel plans to Schengen?