African Countries With Travel Restrictions Over Coronavirus


In the African continent, there are now more than 1,400 confirmed cases of coronavirus across the nations and a number of deaths reported as well. A number of African countries affected by the virus have imposed a range of prevention and containment measures against the spread of the pandemic with external help from world organizations.

Since the start of the outbreak the World Health Organization (WHO) has been supporting African governments with early detection by providing thousands of COVID-19 testing kits to countries, training dozens of health workers and strengthening surveillance in communities. Forty-seven countries in the WHO African region can now test for COVID-19. Governments and health authorities across the continent are striving to limit widespread infections.  A number of them have issued travel restrictions to curtail the spread of the deadly virus.

According to the latest statistics by the African Union, 24 countries have initiated full border closure, 10 have issued international air traffic closure, 7  have issued travel restrictions to and from specific countries and other 7 have ordered entry restrictions for travellers from specific countries.

Most member states of the African Union have imposed mandatory self-quarantine, for all travellers of travellers caring form high-risk areas. Some countries still allow cargo freight and emergency transport into and out of the country while others have banned entry or suspended visa issuance into their countries.

Burundi, South Sudan, Malawi, Comoros, Lesotho, Botswana are among the countries free of the deadly virus. So far Kenya has reported 31 cased of infected persons, one case of recovery and one death. The public has been highly encouraged to practice social distancing, self-quarantine and to wash their hands regularly.