Kenya Airways, Delta New Code-Share Opens Up 15 New North American Destination

Kenya Airways

The United States is one of Kenya’s key trading partners. It is the largest tourist source market, and in the period to October 2017 accounted for close to 100 000 tourists to Kenya.

The success of the maiden Kenya Airways (KQ) direct flight from Nairobi to New York after the plane touched down at the JFK International Airport in October last year, completing a 15-hour nonstop journey put the national carrier on the limelight striking major deals with other airlines.

Kenya Airways has reached an agreement with Delta Airlines, a major American Airline to activate its codeshare in the US and Canada an arrangement that will enable both the business and leisure travelers to enjoy greater connectivity and efficiency in 11 US cities and 4 Canadian cities connecting them from New York, using the direct flight from Nairobi at more competitive fares.

“As part of our commitment to the New York route, we are proud to be a part of this partnership that will open up opportunities for our customers to access more destinations in North America through the John F. Kennedy Airport,” said Kenya Airways Group Managing Director and CEO Sebastian Mikosz.

The codeshare agreement is a part of Kenya Airways’ broader strategy to assert its presence and expand connectivity across Africa while opening opportunities for tourism, trade, and investment. The airline is counting on the tourism, with the US being a key source market of vacationers, as well as opportunities to Kenyan businesses accorded by the African Growth Opportunity Act (AGOA) to sustain the flights.

Beginning June, Kenya Airways will increase its frequency to New York from 5 days a week to 7 days a week. Sebastian Mikosz said the New York route continues to be a strategic route for Kenya Airways and as an Airline are firmly committed to it as they prepare for Summer 2019 season which is a high flying season.

The destinations available from New York are: Chicago O Hare – Illinois, Denver – Colorado, Orlando – Florida, Miami – Florida, Raleigh Durham – North Carolina, Phoenix – Arizona, Charlotte – North Carolina.

The following destinations will be added subject to government and regulatory approvals: Houston – Texas, Philadelphia – Pennsylvania, Columbus – Ohio, Kansas City – Missouri, Toronto – Ontario, Montreal – Quebec, Ottawa – Ontario, Edmonton – Alberta.

This is expected to open more opportunities for travelers to take advantage of this route during this high season and travel to various destinations

Previous articleHow to Check Your Credit Report from Various CRBs in Kenya
Next articleKenya Employers Warn of Looming Job Cuts Which Atwoli Dismisses
Inzillia is an avid reader and researcher on matters finance, business, government affairs, culture, and human interest stories. Poetry too. Email: