List Of Essential Service Providers Exempted From the Nationwide Curfew

President Uhuru on MSMEs

Kenya yesterday recorded 28 cases of COVID-19. President Uhuru during a press brief yesterday, declared a nationwide curfew which will run from 7 pm to 5 am effective from Friday, March 27. However, those providing essential services will be exempted from the curfew. The head of state said that only health workers and other essential and critical service providers would be allowed out during the curfew.

“To ensure we continue to follow the procedures as laid out to all of us by the National Security Council, I announce a daily curfew from 7 pm to 5 am from Friday, March 27, effective in the territory of the Republic of Kenya, except for those providing essential services,” he said.

Here is a list of all those who will be allowed out during the curfew.

  1. Medical professionals and health workers
  2. National security, administration and co-ordination officers
  3. Public health and sanitation officers in county governments
  4. Licensed pharmacies and drug stores
  5. Licensed broadcasters and media houses
  6. Kenya Power and Lighting Company Ltd
  7. Food dealers, distributors, wholesalers and transporters of farm produce
  8. Licensed supermarkets, mini-markets and hypermarkets
  9. Licensed distributors and retailers of petroleum and oil products and lubricants
  10. Licensed telecommunication operators and service providers
  11. Licensed banks, financial institutions and payment financial services
  12. Fire brigade and other emergency response services
  13. Licensed security firms

He urged the public to follow the safety measures given by the Ministry of Health including social distancing,  washing hands regularly with soap and self-quarantine.